Skip to main content

Gross Motor Function Classification System (GMFCS)

Gillette’s health care providers use the Gross Motor Function Classification System (GMFCS) to describe the abilities of people with cerebral palsy. GMFCS classifications emphasize a person’s ability to move on his or her own (self-initiated movement) with a focus on sitting, walking and wheeled mobility. The distinction between levels is based on abilities, the need for assistive technology (including walkers, crutches or wheeled mobility) and—to a lesser extent—quality of movement. Gillette uses the GMFCS to focus on abilities. We look at how people perform in the home, at school and in community settings rather than on what they can do in the best possible circumstances. The levels help us classify conditions; they don’t indicate a prognosis. As children mature, their GMFCS levels might change.

gmfcs level i

gmfcs level ii

gmfcs level iii

gmfcs level iv

gmfcs level v