What is your position and role at Gillette Children’s Specialty Healthcare? I am a Certified Family Nurse Practitioner and work primarily within the physical medicine and rehabilitation realm. I have the privilege of seeing infants, children and adults at the Duluth Clinic and also provide outreach services in Hibbing, Grand Rapids and Bemidji. Outreach provides the patient and family with a shorter commute for visits, making access easier. I recently joined the outreach team and quickly realized that Gillette is an outstanding organization filled with dedicated and talented people working in the metro, and throughout Minnesota, to meet the needs of the special population we serve.   

Meet Us Monday - Kelly Bolf, Nurse PractitionerDo you have a favorite Gillette story or memory?  When I came to interview for my current position, I was a bit on the fence as to whether or not I would leave my previous career of nearly 13 years. By the end of conversing with the outreach providers, nursing recruiter and clinic manager, I was sold…hook, line and sinker! The passion, engagement and strong leadership was so evident that I could not think of anything more than wanting to be a part of this very special team. I knew that I would be able to fulfill my professional and personal goals by accepting a position here.

What do you like best about working at Gillette? The patients! I love being able to connect with patients of all ages. It’s awesome to be able to talk about current events in one room with an older child and ninja turtles or Dora in the next room. I make it a goal to get a smile out of everyone I see.  Sometimes it comes easily and other times I have to work really hard to get it! I believe that oftentimes laughter really is the best medicine.

Do you have any children or pets?  My husband David and I have two boys.  Gavin is eight and Aidan is six. We had a pet fish named “Finny” once who lasted 4 days before his passing.  We have not yet summoned up the bravery to get a second pet but our boys are wearing us down on a dog.

If you could travel anywhere, where would you go?  I would really like to see Alaska as and do some more extensive travel abroad. I have plans to start participating in mission trips in the future and hope that these trips become a family endeavor once our boys get a little older.

What is one fun fact about you? I worked as a summer intern laborer at a Taconite mine on the Iron Range during my freshman year of college.  I shoveled taconite pellets in very hot temperatures and sprayed taconite sludge down drains with a firehose. It was just what I needed to learn about the value of working hard and also the value of a good education.

What are some of your hobbies outside of work? I am an outdoor fanatic! I love to sea kayak on Lake Superior and smaller inland lakes. Camping and other outdoor things such as sports with the family are right up there too! Training for events such as Grandma’s half marathon, a duathalon or 5K here and there helps me to keep in shape so I can keep up with my little guys. 

Show Results